Costa Smeralda

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Courtesy of Costa Cruises |

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Find a Cruise on Costa Smeralda

with a cruise advisor

Traveler Reviews

A ship’s traveler rating is provided under license by Cruiseline.com , which manages one of the largest databases of cruise reviews and ratings by travelers. A total of 25 guests have reviewed Costa Smeralda , giving it a rating of 4 on a scale of 1-5.

Cruiseline Travel Rating:

Reviews by traveler type, most recent reviews.

Not so great. Beware

Apr 29th, 2024

I would not recommend Costa Cruise line. Our room balcony was nice and our dinner service was great. John was wonderful. But Costa is very cheap. Even water and coffe are not included. They try and upsale you even at dinner. You get very basic food. If you are an American, stick with an American cruise line. There are not enough seats for everyone in Buffet. The lines are very long and the management staff do not help if you have a complaint. And the tours in Sardina and Genoa are not worth the money. Also watch your bill, they charge you fir items after you leave.

Traveler Type

Great Mediterranean Itinerary!

Apr 22nd, 2024

This was the first time we cruised with Costa. We loved the itinerary and the ports. The balcony room was nice and we had smooth seas. Everything was laid out differently than the ships departing from the U.S. which made it harder to find the buffet and common spaces. Our main problems were with the excursions. The descriptions did not provide accurate information, especially about the the difficulty level. We had our 90 year old mother with us, and she had to skip parts of excursions, or get a cab back to the ship in two ports.

Large Group

Too crowded and rowdy cruise for mature cruisers!!

Apr 17th, 2024

We did not check the review of this cruise BEFORE booking. We should avoid this big ship with a crowd. We feel more comfortable with smaller ships and with more adult Americans fellow cruisers. We could have enjoyed the outdoor areas of this beautiful ship more IF there were less smokers were there. There should have specific designated smoking areas on the ship as Celebrity cruise lines do.

Careful with costa

Apr 15th, 2024

Really be careful on what you’re booking in advance because they’ll still try to upsell you and charge you for extra stuff later down the line there’s a hotels service charge every single day and room service is really bad. Bring your own water if you can because they charge really expensive for water on board and they do not offer any free water

Family (older children)

4-6 cruises

Great variety cruise

Dec 18th, 2023

I really enjoyed the places of port. Ship was nice. Difficult for Americans.

Singles/Friends

1 cruise (first)

Oct 27th, 2023

overall the ship was clean and comfortable. However main language is Italian. A Lot of the staff does speak English or Spanish so communication is possible. It takes some getting use to but very workable. It was a nice trip. However if you are expecting the same type of cruise experience as Carnival or Royal Caribbean this cruise line is NOT for you.

2-3 cruises

Smeralda cruise

Sep 21st, 2023

Costa did a wonderful job and all aspects were very well done. It was enjoyable to have such a large mix of nationalities, and everyone was having a good time.

First time on Costa, won't be our last

Aug 10th, 2023

First time on Costa. If you find a cruise at a great price, giver her a go. The drinks package was very reasonable (about £23pppd) and included most drinks.

Ratchet cruise

Jul 3rd, 2023

Guys if you don’t care about food and don’t mind Italians acting like they own the ship then please go ahead and book with Costa. Other than that even their laundry service ruined our clothes.

Everything was perfect except for the last part

Jun 2nd, 2023

The cruise is really a pleasing experience. The staff inside the cruise was helpful but the reception was always crowded and they might need some more staff in there. The only bad part was the disembarkation which was not organized well. Hope this can be addressed soon.

Disclaimers about ship ratings: A ship’s Health Rating is based on vessel inspection scores published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). If a ship did not receive a CDC score within 22 months prior to the calculation of its Overall Rating, its Health Rating appears as N/A; in such a case, the ship’s Overall Rating is calculated using the average Health Rating of all CDC-rated ships within the cruise line. All ship Traveler Ratings are based on ratings provided under license by Cruiseline.com.

You Might Also Like

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Norwegian Jewel

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Oasis of the Seas

If you make a purchase from our site, we may earn a commission. This does not affect the quality or independence of our editorial content.

  • Holiday Rentals
  • Restaurants
  • Things to do
  • Things to Do
  • Travel Stories
  • Rental Cars
  • Add a Place
  • Travel Forum
  • Travellers' Choice
  • Help Centre

Costa Smeralda Deck Plans & Reviews

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Costa Smeralda

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Activities & entertainment

Reviews we perform checks on reviews. tripadvisor’s approach to reviews before posting, each tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. if the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines , the review is not published. when the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site. our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines . learn more about our review moderation..

  • Excellent 75
  • Very Good 57
  • Terrible 217
  • All languages ( 512 )
  • Italian ( 280 )
  • French ( 84 )
  • English ( 74 )

Upcoming itineraries

The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.

Emma Cruises

Costa Smeralda – Inside Cabin Photo Guide and Honest Review

If you are taking a cruise on the Costa Smeralda you may be wondering if an inside cabin is a good option for you.

I’ve just disembarked a cruise onboard the Costa Smeralda and my parents stayed in an inside cabin. This is what they had to say…

We stayed in inside cabin 5120 and this review is based on this cabin.

Below is a photo of the inside cabin. When you first arrive there will be a plastic mat on the bed for you to put your suitcase on when you unpack, but it is then removed by the cabin steward once you have done so.

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Changing The Bed Configuration

We were cruising as a couple, and the cabin was made up with a double bed.

If you are sharing with a friend or family member and need twin beds, you can speak to your room steward and ask them to split the bed into two singles.

You can sometimes select twin beds when booking, but it isn’t uncommon for this message not to get through to the ship/cabin steward.

On all cruise lines, apart from Disney Cruise Line, the beds are able to be configured as twins or a double bed.

Inside Cabin Cabin Size

The size and design of Costa Smeralda’s inside cabins are very typical of an inside cabin in the industry.

The majority of inside cabins measure roughly 160 sq ft – and this is exactly what Costa Smeralda’s inside cabins measure.

To learn more about how the size of cabins compare across cabin grades, check out this post:  How Big Are Cruise Ship Cabins? 27 Examples, All Cabin Types

The cabin is made up of the following:

  • A double bed
  • Two small shelves by the bed
  • Drawers and Closet Space
  • Two Mirrors – one over the desk, one in the wardrobe
  • Bin/Trash Can

This inside cabin felt warm and cosy, and we were very comfortable in there

Cabin Design

The Costa Smeralda was built in 2019 and is quite modern in design.

Modern colours, design and soft furnishings were all around – in both the public spaces and the cabins.

The artwork onboard was often a quirky take on Italian Renaissance paintings! Probably not to everyone’s taste but it’s impossible to have artwork that suits everybody. We liked them.

The cabin has two mirrors which I liked, one over the desk and a full-length one on the back of the wardrobe door

I LOVED The Beds

The beds were incredibly comfortable and we all slept well on the cruise. (Apart from the odd occasion when other noisy guests woke us up!) We were cruising with family and we all agreed that the beds were very comfortable.

The bedding felt of high quality and the pillows were very soft.

When we first arrived, there was only one pillow per person on the bed. We prefer to have two pillows each, so left a short note for the cabin steward, and when we returned later in the day, two more pillows had arrived. Very efficient!

We Never Saw Our Cabin Steward

We never saw our cabin steward the whole time we were onboard, although he definitely came in and cleaned the room once a day, in the morning.

When we first arrived he obviously thought we were Spanish – as all the written information including the welcome pack was in Spanish. Again, we left another note, and soon started to receive our daily schedules in English!

There was plenty of room under the bed so we stored our suitcases there.

Which Plug Sockets are There In the Inside Cabins On The Costa Smeralda?

There was a European plug socket with 2 USB’s by the desk area. There was also a European plug on one side of the bed, but no USB’s. Other cabin grades may have extra sockets.

If you are ever in doubt about which plug sockets a cruise ship has, check out this searchable table:

Complete Cruise Ship Plug Socket Guide: Search by Ship

On many modern cruise ships, you’ll find USB sockets by the beds, it would have been handier to have that – or at least a socket on each side of the bed.

There are no kettle, tea or coffee-making facilities in the cabin. This is typical of American and European cruise lines.

British cruise lines, and sometimes cruise lines sailing out of Great Britain (like MSC ) often supply them, as they know how much the British appreciate being able to make a cup of tea!

There Was a Large TV

The TV showed a variety of shows in multiple languages. There were quite a few news channels, we were also able to watch some documentaries.

The large flat-screen TV swung out from the wall on a hinge. It was a perfect design for watching TV in bed – if you could find something of interest to watch.

costa cruise smeralda reviews

The design of the cabin did mean, however, that when the TV was pushed flat against the wall, it made it quite a tight squeeze to get down the side of the bed. Not ideal if you have walking or mobility issues.

The white lamp in the photo is a daylight alarm clock, it lights up slowly to mimic the sunrise. This means that you don’t wake up in the dark. We never cruise without ours. To find out more about mine, check out this post:  Sunrise Alarm Clocks – The BEST Inside Cabin Hack

Was There Enough Storage?

We found there to be more than enough storage in the cabins for a week – there were plenty of shelves and hanging space – but in my opinion, not enough drawers!

There was a bedside shelf on each side of the bed.

There were only 2 drawers in the cabin which were in the desk. There were no drawers at all in the wardrobe area – nowhere to put your socks or underwear!

The Bathroom Was Very Well Designed

The bathroom was designed very well to make the most of the available space. It had a toilet, sink and quite a large shower area. (This was far bigger than the standard, quadrant-type ship shower cubicles.)

There was also a proper glass shower door, not a clingy shower curtain! There were a couple of shelves in the corner, a whole bank of open shelves just inside the door, as well as extra storage below the sink area.

I personally loved the black and white tiled floor, and the large shower. Everything was always very clean and functioned well.

costa cruise smeralda reviews

There was a silver pump bottle in the shower and another by the sink that I can only assume was a generic soap/body wash. It wasn’t labelled, so your guess is as good as mine – It smelt perfectly fine!

Often on cruise ships, you’ll find that the water from the shower leaks into the main bathroom, the bathroom floor did get a little wet, but it was never a problem.

Our Cabin Was Very Close To The Staircase at the Front of the Ship

The location of our cabin was just below the area where the Mastrianni Bar joined the Sanremo theatre on deck 6. This is called the Matera deck.

costa cruise smeralda reviews

We found this to be a good cabin location. The Mastrianni bar was huge, and never too busy or noisy. A great place to have a drink -or get a drink to take back to your cabin. If you walked through that bar you were quickly at the coffee bar by the Colosseo area.

“The Colosseo” is a circular area, spread over three floors in the middle of the ship. There is a stage in the middle where shows were performed.

Unfortunately, the design of the ship meant that many of the seats had pillars or columns in the way, so although it looked impressive, we found it to be quite impractical.

As there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in our cabin, we found this close proximity to the coffee bar very handy! We would often sit here in the mornings and watch the world go by.

Would I Recommend This Cabin?

I would recommend booking this inside cabin on the Costa Smeralda if you are travelling on a budget. Our cabin was clean, modern and functional.

Although I have seen larger inside cabins on other ships, ours felt cosy and warm – but not TOO warm! The air conditioning worked very well, so it was easy to make sure the temperature was right for you.

Things That I Wasn’t So Keen On

Costa is a very family-orientated cruise line. I have never been on a cruise before where there were lines and lines of buggies/strollers in the corridors. We are more used to seeing lots of mobility scooters!

We were woken a few times in the early hours by loud voices or children crying.

The only other thing I wasn’t keen on was the cabin carpet. It was a design with blocks of different colours. This really showed where drinks had been spilt on the carpet, and I think Costa could have done more to scrub the carpet clean!

costa cruise smeralda reviews

Free Insiders Cruise Line Guide

Ever wondered how the mainstream cruise lines compare? Cruise lines won’t tell you this, but I will.

This FREE guide shows you everything you need to know to find your perfect cruise line.

Enter your email address below:

  • CruiseMapper
  • Cruise Ports
  • Mediterranean - Black Sea Cruise Ports

Genoa (Milan, Italy Riviera)

Cruise port schedule, live map, terminals, news.

Genoa cruise port

Region Mediterranean - Black Sea

Local Time 2024-06-11 07:06

Port Genoa cruise ship schedule shows timetable calendars of all arrival and departure dates by month. The port's schedule lists all ships (in links) with cruises going to or leaving from Genoa, Milan, Italy Riviera. To see the full itineraries (ports of call dates and arrival / departure times) and their lowest rates – just follow the corresponding ship-link.

Port Genoa/Genova also serves as cruise port to Milano City and is located on Ligurian Sea (Western Mediterranean). Genova City is the capital of Liguria (coastal region in northwestern Italy) also known as the "Italian Riviera".

Genoa is approx 145 km (90 mi) from Milano and approx 185 km (115 mi) from Cannes France (direction northeast). The city has population around 600,000 (metro over 1,5 million) and is famous as the birthplace of Christopher Columbus (1451-1506).

Port Genova (locode ITGOA) is currently ranked Mediterranean's second-largest seaport (after Marseille France ).

In Genova are registered all vessels of the cruise shipping companies (both Carnival Corporation -owned subsidiaries) Costa and AIDA , as Italy is the preferable flag-state for Costa Group (their managing company).

Fincantieri (one of the world's largest shipbuilding companies ) owns the merchant shipbuilding yards Monfalcone , Marghera ( Venice ), Sestri Ponente (Genoa), Ancona , Castellammare di Stabia (near Naples ) and Palermo (Sicily) . The company also owns the naval shipyards Riva Trigoso (Genoa) and Muggiano ( La Spezia ).

Genova port's main ferry shipping destinations in Mediterranean Sea (both cargo and passengers) are Sicily Island (Italy), Sardinia Island (Italy), Corsica Island (France), Barcelona (Spain) and also Canary Islands (Spain). Genova is Italy's busiest cargo ship port by cargo tonnage. The port is also famous with its dismantling (shipbreaking) station where the ominous Costa Concordia ship wreckage was dismantled. The port is also one of the country's still profiting shipbuilding yards serving the yacht construction market, yacht and boat maintenance, navy shipyards.

Besides its containership and passenger (ferry and cruise) terminals, shipyards and various ship handling facilities, Genoa port also has several sailboat and yacht marinas. The list of the marinas includes - Exhibition Centre (Fiera di Genova, capacity 305 berths), Duca degli Abruzzi (capacity 350 berths), Molo Vecchio (old harbor, capacity 160 berths, max LOA length 150 m), Porto Antico (capacity 280 berths), Genova Aeroporto (for mega yachts, capacity 500 berths, max LOA length 90 m) and Fascia di Rispetto di Pra (capacity 1000 berths).

On January 31, 2019, Italian police announced the seizure of 2+ tons of pure cocaine (from Colombia) - Italy's largest drug bust since 1993. The drugs (street value ~EUR 500 million / ~USD 574M) were discovered in a TEU-container and packed into 60 bags. The unit was imported from South America and destined for Barcelona. The drugs belonged to several drug-trafficking organizations part of "Gulf Clan" (accounting for ~70% of Colombia's total cocaine export). Reportedly, the police replaced total 1801 packets of cocaine with salt, then sent the cargo on its way in a ploy to hold the drug runners. A 59-year-old Spanish man was arrested in Barcelona when he tried to collect the shipment.

Genoa cruise port

On March 23, 2013, here was christened MSC Preziosa . In the period April 29 - May 17, the Grand Celebration ship (operated by Iberocruceros, owned by Costa Group) was docked in Genoa for planned refurbishment and maintenance. Dry-dock works were performed at the shipyard San Giorgio del Porto - a major shipyard for repairs and refitting.

On November 14, 2013, the company Costa Crociere SpA announced its plans to open in late spring 2014 new offices in Genoa. The new office space is for about 190 employees. It is located on the 1st floor of the Carmonte office building (Piazza Piccapietra), neighboring with the company's Palazzo Costa headquarters. Genoa has been the company's hometown since the 1950s. The new offices became workplace for Costa employees that previously worked at Via De Marini and handled all the commercial and tour operations for Costa cruise passengers.

On June 30, 2014, the Italian Cabinet authorized the transportation (towing) of the salvaged Costa Concordia . The wreckage was towed from Giglio Island (the ship's sinking accident site) to Genoa for dismantling and recycling, The Concordia ship’s last voyage was provided by the salvage company Titan Micoperi. On July 23, 2014, at ~11 am started the towing of the wreckage towards Genoa. The ship moved at an avrg speed of 2,3 mph (3,7 kph) arriving in Genoa 4 days later (on July 27).

On November 7, 2014, here was christened the Costa Diadema . The new ship left Trieste on November 1. The maiden voyage to Genoa also visited Dubrovnik (Croatia), Corfù (Greece), Malta and Naples . The ship's inaugural cruise departed from Savona (on Nov 8).

In 2016, the port reported a record year with handled over 1 million cruise tourists. In 2016, Stazioni Marittime cruise terminals were upgraded with new equipment, including new gangways at Ponte Doria. The investment was ~EUR 2,2 million.

Since 2018, Port Genoa provides shore-power capabilities. The shore-to-ship electrical power suply technology (by Nidec Corporation, Japan) enables docked vessels to receive electricity from the city's power grid. From the berth, vessels can plug-in directly to the grid which allows full onboard operations without using the diesel engines/generators. The Japanese company has installed such systems in the USA ports Los Angeles CA , San Francisco CA , Juneau AK , as well as in other European ports ( Goteborg Sweden , Travemunde Germany , Livorno Italy ).

On July 7, 2018, during Costa Cruises' 70th-anniversary celebrations in Genoa (Costa Zena Festival) was constructed a huge waterslide (length 340 m/1115 ft) designed to break Guinness World Record for "longest slid in 1 hour". The slide was installed on Via XX Settembre street and helped to establish the world's new record of 775 km (481,6 mi) sliding in 1 hour. Another world record broken was for longest bunting string - 2070 maritime signal flags were connected into 2 km long line along the festival's areas. At Old Port and Piazza Caricamento were performed live 60 performers (street musicians, dancers, artists, acrobats), 29 singers, DJs, comedians. Piazza de Ferrari had for kids games, workshops and parties with mascots. The evening concert (at 8.30 pm) was on Radio 105 stage (opposite Piazza delle Feste) and included performances by popular Italian singers and bands.

For season 2019, the cruise port expects 30% increase in passengers (to 1,3 million), most of whom (around 750,000) embarking (homeport).

In July-August 2023 was completed the Cesare Imperiale Viaduct's retrofitting project. The waterfront promenade is in the Stazioni Marittime Terminal's area. The 300-m/ 980-ft long viaduct/road bridge (connecting Ponte dei Mille with Ponte Andrea Doria) is annually used by 1+ million cruise tourists.

Cruise itineraries to and from Genoa Italy

Follows a list of destinations visited by cruise ships leaving out of Genoa:

  • The most common itineraries are the week-long (7-day) Mediterranean cruises out of Genoa. These roundtrips visit the largest Central and Western Mediterranean ports of Italy, France and Spain, along with smaller ports on the French Riviera and the Italian Riviera (coastal regions with top-luxury resorts).
  • One-way itineraries (including around Italy) leaving from Genoa end up in Barcelona , Civitavecchia-Rome , Piraeus-Athens , Venice .
  • Short-break (Mini Cruises) from Genoa are 3-nights / 4-days long, operated by MSC ships and visit Barcelona and Marseille .
  • Roundtrips to Canary Islands out of Genoa are operated mostly during winter months. The itineraries visit North Africa ( Casablanca Morocco ) and Funchal (Madeira Island) and are often combined with other ports in Spain and Portugal. The most visited ports in the Canaries are Arrecife (Lanzarote Island) , Las Palmas (Gran Canaria Island) and Santa Cruz de Tenerife (Tenerife Island) .
  • Among the most visited Mediterranean island ports are Palma De Mallorca (Majorca Island) , Sicily ( Palermo , Messina ), Corsica ( Ajaccio ), Malta ( Valletta ), Sardinia ( Cagliari ).
  • World Cruises from Genoa are offered mainly by Costa but also by smaller-sized ships (like those of Phoenix Reisen ). Itineraries could be both eastbound (via Suez Canal ) and westbound (Transatlantic), some of which are around Africa (with circumnavigation routes).

Seasonal ship relocations (RepositionCruises.com) offer one-way itineraries from Genoa to the UK ( Southampton ), Holland ( Rotterdam , Amsterdam ), Germany ( Kiel , Hamburg ), Denmark ( Copenhagen ). Eastbound reposition routes (transiting the Suez Canal) may end up in ports in Asia ( Dubai , Singapore , Hong Kong ) and even in Australia ( Sydney NSW , Brisbane QLD ).

Westbound Transatlantic crossings on ship relocation itineraries out of Genoa are offered in the Fall (starting in late November). Among the visited destinations are USA Florida ports ( Fort Lauderdale , Miami , Port Canaveral-Orlando , Tampa ), Caribbean island ports ( Bridgetown Barbados , Fort de France Martinique , Pointe A Pitre Guadeloupe , Havana Cuba ). The longest Transatlantic voyages out of Genoa are on repositioning from Europe to South America, with debarkation in either Brazil ( Rio De Janeiro , Santos-Sao Paulo ) or Argentina ( Buenos Aires ).

Genoa cruise terminal

Genova/Genoa cruise port terminals are located on Stazioni Marittime at Ponte Caracciolo. The Maritime Station has five terminals – 3 for ferries and 2 for cruise ships. The station spreads over almost 30 hectares (0,3 km2 / 0,1 mi2). The address is "Palazzo SanGiogio, Via della Mercanzia 2, Genoa, GE 16123, Italy".

The closest to the seaport airports are Genoa Airport, Nice Airport, Milano Malpensa Airport. Port Genoa (Genova in Italian) has 3 cruise ship terminals (with all 5 berths / quays) and 13 ferry ship terminals. The port's ferry quays extend over an area of 250000 m2 (2691000 ft2) serving over 4 million passengers, 1,5 million cars and 250000 trucks.

  • UN-LOCODE (United Nations location code) - ITGOI
  • port address - "Palazzo San Giogio, Via della Mercanzia 2, Genoa, GE 16123, Italy"
  • supported by excellent road, rail and air infrastructure
  • deep channel water and berths
  • capability to accommodate 5 vessels at a time
  • The cruise port is accessible the whole year round – 24/7, 365 days a tear. It is located within walking distance of the city's historic centre. Disembarking cruise passengers can choose either to tour the city or to book optional excursions to  Savona  or  Portofino .
  • Cruise ships usually arrive in Genoa in early morning (at 8 or 9 am) and depart from Genoa in late afternoon or in the evening (at 5 or 6 pm).

Ponte dei Mille and Ponte Andrea Doria cruise terminals (Genoa)

Port Genoa's first cruise terminal is Ponte dei Mille (1930-opened). The facility was upgraded in 1991 and used to be the most advanced passenger terminal regarding technologies. It has capacity to handle 3x vessels simultaneously. The second cruise terminal (Ponte Andrea Doria) can berth 2x liners at a time.

The Maritime Station is close to downtown (old town), but in an industrial area, so it is better to use a taxi. In 2016, Stazioni Marittime's investments were EUR 2,2 million. Part of the new equipment were Ponte Doria Terminal's new gangways.

In July 2022 were annou nced plans to equip Stazioni Marittime's terminals with an additional pier (alongside Ponte Dei Mille West) with capacity to berth the world's biggest passenger liners (LOA length 330 m / 1083 ft)).

The project followed recent dredging works (for deepening the waterway) and included the existing quay's extension (from 290 to 380 m / 1247 ft), construction of a new boarding terrace and terminal building, and building a new quay line (at Calata Santa Limbania) alongside the former grain silos Hennebique (200 m long building). The quay (to be enhanced by 12 m in width) will serve the adjacent cruise terminal and will also provide mooring for leisure boats during no-ship days.

(NEW) Genoa Ponte Parodi cruise terminal

Ponte Parodi terminal is currently under construction. Its quay was once used for grain traffic (silos).

The Ponte Parodi cruise terminal project involves redesigning a 23000 m2 (247600 ft2) waterfront area part of the former industrial area named Ponte Parodi.

The new pier complex was designed by De Carlo and features a series of multi-functional spaces to be used for exhibitions and various commercial purposes on the pier. These buildings are enclosed in large glass surfaces and adjacent to a restaurant, cafes and pubs, a disco, gyms, swimming pools.

  • Medieval quarter: located on Piazza San Lorenzo. The medieval centre houses the Church of San Donato, the Church of Sant’Agostino frescoes, the Museo dell’Architettura e Scultura Ligure and the Porta Soprana. The most popular are the San Lorenzo Cathedral and the Tesoro Museum.
  • Palazzo Ducale (Ducal Palace) is a former residence of the Doges of Genoa. It dates from the 14th century and displays different historic exhibitions. It is located on 9 Piazza Matteotti.
  • Galata Museum of the Sea: this is the largest museum of maritime history in the Mediterranean. It is located on 1 Calata de Mari.
  • Acuario di Genova: the largest aquarium in the continent. The Acuario di Genoa houses more than 800 marine species. It is located on Ponte Spinola.
  • Palazzo Rosso and Palazzo Bianco: both are located in Via Garibaldi and currently work as art galleries. Palazzo Rosso displays Durer, Caravaggio and Titian works. Palazzo Bianco offers Rubens and Van Dyck paintings

Genoa tours, shore excursions, hotels

City tours and shore excursions.

Windstar announces winter Mediterranean cruises for 2025-2026 season

Windstar announces winter Mediterranean cruises for 2025-2026 season

The premium travel brand Windstar is set to offer an impressive array of winter Mediterranean voyages for the 2025-2026 season, showcasing a diverse...

4 passengers arrested for alleged rape aboard MSC Seaside

4 passengers arrested for alleged rape aboard MSC Seaside

Italian authorities have detained four young passengers on charges of allegedly raping an Italian woman aboard the MSC Seaside while the ship was...

Genoa and Savona ports expand quays to accommodate ultra-large cruise vessels

Genoa and Savona ports expand quays to accommodate ultra-large cruise vessels

A comprehensive large-scale infrastructure plan has been implemented at the passenger ports of Genoa and Savona, with developments underway across...

Costa unveils 'Sea Destinations' to enrich Mediterranean and Northern European cruises

Costa unveils 'Sea Destinations' to enrich Mediterranean and Northern European cruises

Beginning in spring 2024, Costa's Mediterranean and Northern European cruises will introduce new destinations to be enjoyed from the distinct vantage...

Brilliant Lady ship completes final drydocking before delivery to Virgin Voyages

Brilliant Lady ship completes final drydocking before delivery to Virgin Voyages

The newbuild Brilliant Lady cruise ship has successfully concluded her final dry dock period ahead of her imminent delivery to Virgin Voyages. This...

MSC cancels April repositioning cruises due to heightened risks in the Red Sea

MSC cancels April repositioning cruises due to heightened risks in the Red Sea

MSC Cruises has made the decision to cancel three repositioning Grand Voyage sailings scheduled for April due to heightened risks to shipping in the...

MSC Poesia embarks on annual World Cruise with altered route amid Red Sea security concerns

MSC Poesia embarks on annual World Cruise with altered route amid Red Sea security concerns

MSC Cruises celebrated the start of the company’s epic yearly world cruise on Friday, January 5, but announced to passengers that the ship will...

Costa Cruises launches 19 voyages for Christmas and New Year 2023-2024

Costa Cruises launches 19 voyages for Christmas and New Year 2023-2024

The Carnival Corporation-owned Costa Cruises announced that it will offer 19 cruises for Christmas & New Year 2023-24 on 10 ships, with various...

MSC Cruises enhances 2024 voyages with ships Musica (West Mediterranean) and Opera (Aegean/Greek Islands)

MSC Cruises enhances 2024 voyages with ships Musica (West Mediterranean) and Opera (Aegean/Greek...

MSC Cruises has unveiled noteworthy updates to its summer 2024 itineraries, featuring a comprehensive revision for MSC Musica's West Mediterranean...

MSC Cruises adjusts Musica's summer itinerary amid Middle East geopolitical landscape

MSC Cruises adjusts Musica's summer itinerary amid Middle East geopolitical landscape

In response to the ongoing Israel-Hamas war, MSC Cruises made changes to MSC Musica's summer 2024 itinerary program. The ship's canceled sailings...

  •   show more news

Genoa - user reviews and comments

IMAGES

  1. Costa Smeralda Full Video Tour 4K

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

  2. Costa Smeralda Cruise Reviews (2021 UPDATED): Ratings of Costa Smeralda

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

  3. Ship reviews Costa Smeralda, Costa Cruises

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

  4. Cruise Review: Costa Smeralda

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

  5. Costa Smeralda Itinerary, Current Position, Ship Review

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

  6. Costa Smeralda Itinerary, Current Position, Ship Review

    costa cruise smeralda reviews

VIDEO

  1. Cruise Smeralda grimaldi Lines(Ikarus Papace Minoan Lines)

  2. COSTA SMERALDA Interview SIMONA Cruise Director

  3. Costa Smeralda Mediterranean Cruise itinerary 3 Countries 6 Port to Discover#cruise #europe

  4. Costa Smeralda Cruise welcome party #shorts #cruise

  5. Costa Smeralda passing the Storebælt Bridge

  6. Cruise Ship Costa Smeralda, deck 8. Restaurants, bars and entertainment

COMMENTS

  1. Costa Smeralda Cruise: Expert Review (2023)

    Our expert Costa Costa Smeralda review breaks down deck plans, the best rooms, dining, and more. Check out the best Costa Smeralda cruise ship tips now.

  2. Costa Smeralda

    Find details and photos of Costa Smeralda cruise ship on Tripadvisor. Learn more about Costa Smeralda deck plans and cabins, ship activities including dining and entertainment, and sailing itineraries to help you plan your next cruise vacation.

  3. Costa Smeralda Review

    We review the Costa Smeralda cruise ship, part of Costa Cruises' fleet of ships. Our expert reviewer examines the staterooms, entertainment, and design of the ship, which sails from ports in the ...

  4. Costa Smeralda Review

    Costa Smeralda is ranked 1 among Costa cruise ships by U.S. Check itineraries, photos and ratings from 25 travelers.

  5. Costa Smeralda Reviews from Travelers

    Browse 25 Costa Smeralda reviews from real travelers. Read verified reviews covering Costa Smeralda cruise ship cabins, dining, features and more.

  6. Costa Smeralda Passenger Reviews

    Read passenger reviews for Costa Smeralda. Too crowded and rowdy cruise for mature cruisers!! Apr 17th, 2024. We did not check the review of this cruise BEFORE booking.

  7. Costa Smeralda

    Find details and photos of Costa Smeralda cruise ship on Tripadvisor. Learn more about Costa Smeralda deck plans and cabins, ship activities including dining and entertainment, and sailing itineraries to help you plan your next cruise vacation.

  8. Costa Smeralda Cruise Reviews

    See what 38 cruisers had to say about their Costa Smeralda cruises. Find candid photos and detailed reviews of the Costa Smeralda cruise ship.

  9. Costa Smeralda Cruise Review by trejonora

    Read the Costa Smeralda review by Cruiseline.com member trejonora from May 13, 2022 of the 7 Night Western Mediterranean (Rome Roundtrip) cruise.

  10. Costa Smeralda Reviews, Ship Details & Photos

    Costa Smeralda is an extra large ship, carrying passengers and crew, and sails from Barcelona, Spain and Civitavecchia (Rome), Italy.

  11. Cruise Review: Costa Smeralda

    After all, Smeralda is a hard one to overlook. Weighing in at 185,000 tons and carrying 6,554 passengers at full capacity, Costa Smeralda is — for now — the world's sixth-largest cruise ship. Smeralda is also notable for being the second-ever liquefied natural gas-powered cruise ship (a sister, Costa Toscana, debuts in March).

  12. Costa Smeralda

    The size of Costa Smeralda's balcony cabins are slightly larger than that of most cruise ships. The majority of cruise ship balcony cabins measure roughly between 180 and 200 sq ft - our balcony cabin was 205 sq ft - so a good size!

  13. Costa Smeralda

    The size and design of Costa Smeralda's inside cabins are very typical of an inside cabin in the industry. The majority of inside cabins measure roughly 160 sq ft - and this is exactly what Costa Smeralda's inside cabins measure. To learn more about how the size of cabins compare across cabin grades, check out this post: How Big Are ...

  14. Costa Smeralda: routes, photos, cabins and decks

    Choose Costa Smeralda for your next trip 🚢 Discover the ship, look at the itineraries and get on board for a holiday with all the comforts!

  15. Costa Smeralda Cruise Review by TreadwellFamily

    Read the Costa Smeralda review by Cruiseline.com member TreadwellFamily from April 11, 2024 of the 7 Night Western Mediterranean (Rome Roundtrip) cruise.

  16. Costa Smeralda Itinerary, Current Position, Ship Review

    Costa Smeralda cruise ship itinerary, 2024-2025-2026 itineraries (homeports, dates, prices), cruise tracker (ship location now/current position tracking), review, news

  17. Costa Cruises, Is it as bad as they say?

    Despite the bad reviews we took a Mediterranean cruise on the Costa Smeralda... Come and find out if we agreed with the reviews!And would we cruise with Cost...

  18. Costa Smeralda cabins and suites

    Review of Costa Smeralda cruise ship cabins and suites, floor plans, photos, room sizes, types, categories, amenities. ... The Costa Smeralda cruise ship cabins page is conveniently interlinked with its deck plans showing deck layouts combined with a legend and review of all onboard venues.

  19. Genoa (Milan, Italy Riviera) cruise port schedule

    Port Genoa cruise ship schedule shows timetable calendars of all arrival and departure dates by month. The port's schedule lists all ships (in links) with cruises going to or leaving from Genoa, Milan, Italy Riviera.

  20. The 30 Largest Cruise Ships in the World

    What's the world's the largest cruise ship? Right now, a Royal Caribbean ship holds the honor. But that changes yearly. Check out our round-up of the 30 biggest cruise ships sailing the high seas.